WIP Wednesday 03.08.11

A weekly snapshot of what I’m working on…

With the end of winter nearing I have been trying to make a dent in my winter blankets so most of my evenings this week have been dedicated to Umaro by Jared Flood. I tis getting far too large to lug into the shop for a quick photo shoot, I may have to take my camera home so i can update my progress.

My other Work In Progress on the needles is Spectra.

I am using Noro Silk Garden Sock in #292 and Cascade Eco Alpaca in #1517

There is nothing quite like working with Noro – the intense, sometimes clashing colours and the gradual colour changes. Combined with the buttery soft Eco Alpaca it makes for a dream knit.

The little wedges of colour are satisfying to complete, my favourite row would have to be when you zoom across and pick up all of the wraps.

I am 15 wedges in and have hardly made a dent in the Nor0 – 96 grams still to go! The garter stitch border is chewing up the Eco Alpaca a little faster with 58 grams of my first ball remaining. Because I am using a larger needle I am not sure that I will need the whole 85 wedges, I may assess the size when I am nearing the half way mark of the Silk Garden Sock.

Perhaps I should keep this one since grey is more my colour and make a second one for my mum with a cream Eco Alpaca contrast….

Don’t forget that we have our Short Row Classes starting next week!

Short Row Spectra Classes

Tuesday 9th August & 16th August
10am – 12 noon

OR

Saturday 13th August & 20th August
10am – 12 noon

These classes are a series of two lessons run over two consecutive weeks and are aimed at the Advanced Beginner – prior knowledge on how to comfortably knit, purl, cast on, cast off, increase and decrease is required.

Bookings are essential for all of our classes as we keep our class numbers small.

You can phone the store on 07 3666 0276 or email tangled@tangledyarns.com.au to book your place!

Leave a Reply

