25.03.11

Friday Favourites

We arepatiently awaiting the next book by Ysolda – Little Red in the City. I
have been advised that there is a delay with the release date. Ysolda
self publishes all of her patterns and books which is an amazing
feat! I can totally understand the delay and I am sure the finished
product will be well worth the wait.

Our pre-order registration is still open if you would like to be one of
the first to receive a copy. I am not taking payments for the book as
yet. We will simply register your interest and email you once we have
received notification of our order being shipped.

In the meantime I thought I would share my love for Ysolda and her amazing
designs by featuring her two Whimsical Little Knits books!

Both WLK1 and WLK2 are packed with small, rewarding knits. Projects are
ideal for gift knitting or a little instant gratification knitting
for yourself! Each book has a great mix of accessories including
hats, cowls, scarfs and shawls plus a selection of softies.

The image in the newsletter header is a pair of Tiny Shoes from Whimsical
Little Knits that I made for my for my cousins newborn last April.
They are the sweetest pair of booties knit from less then a skein of
Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino.

I’m particularly taken by little Poppy from WLK1 at the moment, I can see her knit up in our
soft and squishy Woolganics range.

tangledYARNS

I think they would make a great gift for the special little girls in my life. (which means I would need to make two!!)

tangledYARNS

Stitches on needles and yarn on hooks

Bright cotton colours and new pattern books

Tangled Yarns bundles tied up with strings

These are a few of my favourite things!

 

Friday
Favourite Conditions – No holds or lay-by. 10% Off does not apply to
kits as they are already reduced. Special prices apply from launch of
newsletter until 9am Monday.

 

Brown Sheep

It seems that we just can’t keep up with the demand for our Brown Sheep
Cotton Fleece
range and have received another order again this week!

Our shelf is now overflowing with wonderful colours!

tangledYARNS

I have helped several people choose their colours for blankets and throws this week. It is such fun helping select colours…almost like
starting another blanket but without the project guilt.

Cascade

Another of our super popular winter yarns is back in stock in abundance!

We have new stock of the versatile Cascade 220 range plus the chunky Eco Wool.

tangledYARNS

I have been itching to cast on a Wool Leaves by Jared Flood since last winter.
I know I know….another blanket but this one is destined to end up on my parents couch this winter.

Namaste


Back in stock are our favourite bags and accessories from Namaste!

We have also added a selection of colours in the new style – Bitty Bag.

tangledYARNS

The Bitty bag is the ultimate bag for combining function with pleasure while mixing in
the perfect amount of cute! Features include interior coated canvas
print, elastic straps to keep contents in place, 2 open top pockets,
1 interior zipper pocket and an exterior zipper pocket. Adjustable
shoulder strap and strong magnetised closures make this bag super functional and super fun.

COLORS – Eggplant, Hollywood Pink, Peacock. All with “Lola” print fabric on interior.

MATERIALS – Exterior: PVC-free, vegan faux leather. Interior: PVC-free coated canvas.

SIZE – L: 13″ at bottom, 11.5″ at top, W: 5″ at bottom, 3″ at top H: 7″

Colourwork KAL

It is almost time to wrap up our March Colourwork KAL. I am working away on the second of my Spring Roses in Vienna
mitts and have a second pair planned for my grandmother.

Another striped project caught my eye this week, this time one for the men!

Christopher by Jane Richmond is a reversible hat featuring solids and stripes.
Knit in one continuous piece means there are no seams or picked up stitches. Generous in
length, this hat is more a beanie but less than a slouch. I can see a
few different versions with the some of our new colours of Cascade 220.

Don’t forget to have your entries in by the 31st of March to go in the draw to win your purchase price of yarn back as
a gift voucher (up to the amount of $50)*.

*yarn must be purchased from Tangled Yarns during March.

Blanket KAL

With the arrival of our Cascade Eco this week I couldn’t resist finally casting on Wool Leaves
by Jared Flood. I have had this pattern since May last year, there is
something about the chunky lace in the natural colours that I can go past.

The Cascade Eco is knitting up into the most amazing,
soft fabric. I can’t wait to block it and watch the lace open up.

tangledYARNS

Now is a great time to start a blanket of your to keep you warm this winter. Our Blanket KAL will continue until the end of
April and my Blanket Techniques Classes will remain on our classes schedule to coincide with the KAL.

Saturday 9th and 30th
April
1-2pm $15 per student


Bookings are essential – please phone the store on 07 3666 0276 or
email
tangled@tangledyarns.com.au

Biggan Dups Workshops

This weekend is our first of two Colourwork Workshops with Biggan Dups!

Over the past week we have helped the excited students select
their colours for the Beaumont Tam and they have all eagerly cast and
completed the ribbed brim so they can jump right in to the stranded
knitting technique with Biggan.

Even with the extra classes and workshops that we have added we are almost booked out.

There is the odd place left for some of the classes, if you are interested in
learning continental knitting, finishing techniques or colourwork
please call or email to check availability.

Knitted Bunting

We received many wonderful emails and enquiries about the fantastic
Knitting Bunting that Suze made me. My little girls both spotted it
in store and of course wanted one each for their bedroom.

How could I say no….?

tangledYARNS

The pattern we used is Knitted Bunting Flags
by Green Mountain Mama, adjusting for the DK weight yarn that was
used (Biggan Design DK) by casting on 29 stitches.

I used a 4.5mm needle and squeezed 5 flags out of a 50g ball. These would make
a wonderful gift for a baby shower or birthday.

tangledYARNS

tangledYARNS

The embellishments that I have used are from the super talented Watermellish.
Not only is there a library of free charts but also some very detailed tutorials.

Crochet Accessories

This week I purchased a new tea pot for home. Of course a new tea pot
needs to have a matching mat to protect my tables. With some
complimentary colours of Jo Sharp SoHo DK Cotton and Desert Garden Aran I whipped up the cutest little set.

tangledYARNS

tangledYARNS

Next time I feel the urge to start a new project I think I’ll make a few sets of these to
put away for my tea loving friends for later in the year.

We have a new series of Learn to Crochet lessons starting next Thursday
evening. Our LTC lessons are always very popular as you can expand
the basic skill into creating your own blankets and home wares or
enhancing your knitwear.

Learn to Crochet

Thursday 6pm-8pm

31st March, 7th April & 14th April

$25 per lesson

Places are limited, please phone the store on 3666 0276 or emailtangled@tangledyarns.com.au
to book your place.

Knitted Eggs Pattern

With the success of last weeks free bowl pattern I decided to add a simple
little pattern for some colourful eggs.

tangledYARNS

This pattern uses a minimal amount of DK weight yarn but you could make
different sized eggs by adjusting the needles size and use any small
amounts of left over yarn. I know we will certainly have a colourful Easter this year!

Dowload your free copy of the pattern from Ravelry.

Leave a Reply

