31.12.10

The final day of 2010…it feels like this year has past by so fast, in a blur of yarn at times!

I quite like this time of year, the craziness of Christmas has past, the imminent arrival of a new year just around the corner.

I have been looking back at my year of photos, memories, projects and have put together a collage with a selection of my favourite images.

The last twelve months have been a big year for me…

I have seen my two best creations, my little girls, bloom into wonderful five and two year olds. The rate at which they learn and are blossoming into amazing small people is just astounding!

Over the past year I have shared the hard work and joy of growing and evolving my little business with my wonderful staff, special friends and of course my incredible family. I couldn’t do this without their extraordinary support, I hope they all know just how much I appreciate them and everything they do for me.

I am blown away on a daily basis by the amazing creativity of my marvelous customers. I am thankful for all of the fantastic support and hope to see you all again in the New Year, both in-store and online!

New Years Resolutions

There has been lots of talk lately about plans for 2011. With the New Year so close, I would love to know what your creative New Year’s Resolutions are.

Maybe it’s a spot of Work-In-Progress busting? Stepping out of your comfort zone of scarves and learning how to make your first adult garment? Conquering cables or lace? Or maybe it’s to try your hand at Tunisian crochet or entralac?
Send us an email, telling us what your resolutions are for the coming year, and you’ll go into the draw to win a $25 gift voucher for the shop! If you’re in Brisbane, you could even use your gift voucher for a class to get you closer to achieving your resolution.

Entries close 14th January and are to be emailed to tangled@tangledyarns.com.au. The winner will be chosen randomly via a random number generator.

To help inspire you we’d love to share our resolutions for the coming year as well…

Kelly:
My New Years resolution should be – not to start any more blankets and to finish the umm…five that I currently have on the go!

But I’m not going to promise anything, there are just too many amazing patterns out there that I am yet to try.
I would love to finish at least two of the current blankets in time to adore my girls beds in time for this winter.

Kim:
Does it show my knitting tendencies when the only sock I attempted last year became a shawl? My New Year’s resolution quickly took shape as soon as I spotted the Interweave “Favourite Socks” book. I intend to become a sock knitter next year, that is after I finish the 5 shawls I must have.
My other resolution is to be more prepared for the multitude of birthdays and special occasions – no babies for my extended family this year so I have orders for more beanies, hand warmers and felted slippers for all my daughters and of course socks for everyone especially me! If I start on Jan 1st I may have a chance.
My other new year’s resolution is not to be wooed by the gorgeous yarns that keep finding their way into the store, but then that’s ridiculous!

Derrin:
It will be to not have more than one project on the needles at any one time;

that is no more than one cardigan…

one pair of socks…

one shawl…

well, you get the idea!! Oh, and the same for crochet!

Lauren:
To perfect short row shaping! I would love to have my pullovers and cardigans fit just a bit better around my bust…no more gaping button bands, please!
Also to knit my sister the Central Park Hoodie…it was the first pattern I purchased and I think she’d love it – she’s such a little frog, and even though she’s in Mackay I know she’d appreciate it.
And of course, to have all my wedding and honeymoon knitting finished before the start of April. Easy… yes???

Suzanne:
Mostly I resolve to finish my thesis so I have time to knit and to get real grown-up job so I have money to buy yarn to knit with but I also want to tackle steeks and knit an elaborate lace something.

We would love to hear your creative plans for 2011!

FREE Standard Shipping*

To finish the year with a bang I am offering FREE Standard Shipping* for all orders placed between now and 9am Tuesday 4th January 2011!

(*Standard shipping, Australian Orders Only)

Happy New Year
Stay safe welcoming in 2011
May the coming year bring you all you desire

Inspiring your passion!
Kelly

Leave a Reply

