Friday News

Friday Favourites

A new little bundle of joy decided to join my extended family this week, eight weeks early! All reports from my cousin indicate that their little boy is doing well but obviously very tiny.

My immediate reaction was to pick up the needles and my go to pattern and yarn combination is the super versatile Eden’s Adam by TiKKi and our extra soft Eco Baby.

I cast on last night and hope to be able to squeeze a little visit in with some finished goodies over the weekend. I’m thinking of a small embellishment on the vest and maybe a matching preemie hat.

To celebrate the arrival of little Archie our Debbie Bliss Eco Baby and Eco Cotton are this week’s Friday Favourite!

Stitches on needles
and yarn on hooks

Bright woollen
colours and new pattern books
Tangled Yarns bundles
tied up with strings

These are a few of my favourite
things!



Looking for some inspiration for some other projects for the Eco Cotton, why not take a look at the Debbie Bliss Eco Fairtrade pattern book…

tangled YARNS

Colourwork Workshop

We are expecting another super busy and exciting weekend at Tangled Yarns with the launch of our first Colourwork Workshop with Biggan Dups!


tangled YARNS

It isn’t too late to sign up and join us this weekend, we have two places left!

Due to the great response to the workshop we have decided to
hold a second workshop on 5th and 6th June.

Places are limited please call the store on 3666 0276 or email tangled@tangledyarns.com.au

My colourwork goal is to progress from the cowl to a garment, I am seriously tempted by this sweet little cardi for one of my girls.

tangled YARNS

May KAL Update

We seem to have experienced a cool change this week, time to get the needles going and finish my Rosamund!

A little progress has been made this week, sleeves are done and I’m just about to start the waist shaping.


tangled YARNS


This is such a quick knit that there is still plenty of time to join us! Check out the Cascade Eco bundles and colours here.

Don’t forget that you can view everyone’s progress and keep up with the general KAL chatter in our Ravelry Group.

Biggest Morning Tea

Australia’s Biggest Morning Tea is one of the Cancer Council’s leading fundraising events and the largest, most successful event of its kind in Australia.

tangled YARNS

Tangled Yarns are getting on board and supporting this wonderful cause by offering CupCake Kits during May!

tangled YARNS

Cupcakes make great birthday gifts, are ideal ‘play food’ for little ones or simply to brighten up your kitchen.

We will donate 10% of all CupCake Kit sales to the Cancer Council and will be taking gold coin donations during our usual Saturday Social Session on 29th May. Our social groups are open to all and we would love to see you for some CupCake making on the 29th.


Staff Projects

I love that we have created a thriving crafty community here at Tangled Yarns. It makes my day to see so many of our happy customers coming back in with their finished projects, excited to share them with us.

Along with my many projects all of my wonderful staff are prolific and devoted knitters and crocheters! Combined we offer a wealth of knowledge and enthusiasm.

A few staff projects off the needles this month…

Cedar Leaf

tangled YARNS

Kim completed the Cedar Leaf Shawl by Never Not Knitting in Malabrigo Silky Merino for her mother.

Climbing Vines


Lauren completed Climbing Vines Pullover from Interweave Knits Winter 2008 in Debbie Bliss Luxury Tweed.

Boheme and Tiny Shoes

tangled YARNS

And I completed Boheme by Allegra Wermuth and Tiny Shoes by Ysolda Teague, both in Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino for my
other cousin who gave birth a few weeks ago.

Friday DyeDay

I have managed to squeeze in one little dye session this week using another of my favourite bases, a 50/50 silk/merino blend.

I find that my best dye sessions are unplanned and when I don’t have a specific colourway in mind.

When these beauties came out of the pot I immediately thought of Never Not Knitting’s Cedar Leaf Shawl!

tangled YARNS


Two skeins of the Silky Merino is all you need to create your own Cedar Leaf. With that in mind I have called this yarn Cedar…

Noro Books

Our earlier shipment of Noro has been flying off the shelves, so many new and spectacular colours across the entire range.

I have added two new books to our collection, Noro Unlimited and Noro Men. I find that it is difficult to find good men’s patterns so it is great to see an entire book dedicated to some fresh male designs.

Here is a taste…

tangled YARNS

tangled YARNS

Green Hearts Wrap Up

Winter is almost upon us and with it comes the I Knit Brisbane community project.

Make sure you mark June 1st in your diary – the Saviours of the Lost Arts Craft Fair at King George Square will be an event not to be missed and a morning tea will be held to launch the event and as a thank you to everyone who participated!

tangled YARNS

Our deadline for the green hearts and mushrooms to be returned is Monday 24th of May.

I would like to thank the many generous crafters who have contributed to the project. We have had hearts flowing in from far and wide!

Notebook Magazine June 2010

After some Autumnal inspiration? I picked up the June 2010 issue of Notebook Magazine this week and was delighted to see that knitting and crochet featured heavily.


tangled YARNS

I am looking forward to heading home this evening, putting my feet up and indulging in a little down time reading…

Inspiring your passion!

Kelly
2 comments

Leave a Reply

